quotes_His Excellency Mohamed A. Sahnoun

We are moving towards a greater sense of common purpose and solidarity as a world community.- His Excellency Mohamed A. Sahnoun

Read More About AWEPA Leadership


logo of the Pan African Parliament
Pan-African Parliament (PAP)

The establishment of the Pan-African Parliament is informed by a vision to provide a common platform for African peoples and their grassroots organizations to be more involved in discussions and decision-making on the problems and challenges facing the continent.

Pan-African Parliamentarians represent all the peoples of Africa. The ultimate aim of the PAP is to evolve into an institution with full legislative powers whose members are elected by universal adult suffrage.

logo of EALA
East African Legislative Assembly (EALA)

As an organ of the East African Committee, EALA aims to legislate, do oversight and represent the people of East Africa in a bid to foster economic, social, cultural and political integration. The Assembly is committed to fostering the following core values in its operations: effectiveness, ethics and integrity; transparency and accountability; objectivity and impartiality; professionalism and team work; unity in diversity; as well as allegiance to EAC ideals.

logo of ECOWAS
The Economic Community of West African States Parliament (ECOWAS-P)

The ECOWAS Parliament is a forum for dialogue, consultation and consensus for representatives of the peoples of West Africa in order to promote integration. It provides advisory opinions on issues covering a wide range of areas that are of crucial importance for the integration process. These include respect for human rights, the interconnection of communication and telecommunication links, health, education, and revisions of basic community texts.

logo of NEPAD
NEPAD Planning and Coordinating Agency (NPCA)

The NEPAD NPCA is responsible for coordinating the preparation of NEPAD projects and programmes. This includes mobilising technical and financial support, facilitating and supporting implementation, providing information, promoting the programme in Africa and internationally. Also, liaising with development partners, mobilising private sector participation, representing the programme at development forums and monitoring and reporting on progress.

The NEPAD Secretariat has been charged by the Heads of State and Government to facilitate the implementation of the NEPAD vision, and adds value to Africa’s development process.

logo of network of African Parliamentarians
Network of African Parliamentarians (NAP)

With a membership of engaged parliamentarians across Africa, the NAP is a unique initiative which meets to report back on parliamentary actions on NEPAD in regional and national parliaments, and which keeps members informed about NEPAD and development issues through regular information bulletins.

Having recognized that the NEPAD objectives could not be met without the effective use and delivery of aid, the NAP has broadened its focus to include issues of aid and development effectiveness.
logo of SADC
Southern African Development Community Parliamentary Forum (SADC PF)

SADC PF is a delivery-focused, people-centered institution that accelerates and promotes parliamentary participation in regional decision making for the benefit of the citizens of SADC.
The SADC Parliamentary Forum’s mission is to facilitate strategic partnerships within the SADC region, promote information sharing, initiate and implement projects that enhance regional integration and promote effective and professional parliamentary practice.

logo of CEMAC
Economic and Monetary Community of Central Africa Parliament (CEMAC-P)

The Economic and Monetary Community of Central Africa Parliament (CEMAC) facilitates free exchange and movement across borders for the development and the infrastructural and economic integration of the region. Its parliament was officially inaugurated in 2010 in Malabo after a ten-year transition phase to sensitise local populations to democratic processes. The CEMAC Parliament includes 30 Members from six countries: Chad, Cameroon, the Central African Republic, Gabon, Equatorial Guinea and the Republic of Congo. Its mission is to promote harmonious development of member states through the establishment of a true common market.